So what IS my calling?

So for those of you who don’t know, I am currently in school to obtain my Doctor of Nursing Practice Degree.  The path that got me here has to be faith because it just feels like a puzzle that fell into place.  I never wanted to become a nurse.  In fact, I quit college because I had no clue what I wanted to do.  Then I had my Brendon. It was that experience that led me to nursing….

06520120906_073209

I had such a wonderful experience during labor that I was inspired to become an L&D nurse.  I saw the importance of the nurse to a woman in labor and thought I could really impact this area.  So I set some goals and off I went!

070

Somehow I ended up in ICU…maybe by fate…but I fell in love with this area of expertise and just knew this was where I was supposed to be the moment I arrived.  Here I am almost 10 years later and I am more inspired than ever. You see, while I thought that my “calling” was to foster children, providing them a solid foundation to believe in love and family regardless if they stayed with us or went back to their parents, my TRUE calling was right under my nose.

IMG_8555

By this time all three of my sons had fulfilled every square inch of my heart (and soul) and I had set out (with Jamie) to spoil them rotten and show them the World….which costs $$$, so with my passion for nursing and my passion for doing things that cost money, I decided to further my education.

So here I am absolutely crazed as I wear many hats: the mom hat, the manager hat, the nurse hat, the student hat, and the hat that wants to SAVE THE WORLD! I was told that all Graduate students want to save the world, but I figure the odds are that very few of us actually will….In reality, it’s not that I want to “save” the world, but I sure as Hell plan to change it

After a morally distressing ethics case at my work, one of the physician’s said:

This process of coding bodies will unfortunately go on for years because society considers that we are this temporary body and not the soul.  As I said earlier in one of the meetings, we have created a deathless society.

 Unless and until it is etched in the hearts and minds of people that “we are not this temporary body but the eternal soul”, these unnecessary acts of body preservation will go on.
 
There is no profession in the world other than healthcare professionals to deliver this eternal message.
It was then that I realized that our culture has the wrong idea about death!  We have become so obssessed with the miracle of medicine and technology that we forget who is responsible for our lives…not medicine. Not machines. And yet we often depend on these things to live…unnaturally at times…because that has become a custom in our culture.  Other countries don’t think this way.  They rely on Faith and Spirituality to fulfill their lives.  So how did we get so far off the path?  It is that path that I plan to get us back on. A path that teaches us that death is part of the human cycle, but doesn’t mean an “end” to life.  It is another chapter in our lives, like so many chapters we have already written.
Leave a Reply

